Jane Orde Scholarship

Jane Orde Scholarship

Applications for the 19th WFTGA Convention Scholarship will open in July 2021. Applicants must be practising Tourist Guides, who are active in their own tourist guides association, and who come from countries in the World Bank Tiers 3, 4 or 5. The list of eligible countries can be found on the Membership Section of this website. 

The Jane Orde Scholarship was created, by the Androus Foundation, in memory of President Emeritus Jane Orde,  primarily to help tourist guides from countries which are financially challenged and who are therefore unable to attend our conventions.

In 2003 our winners were from the Gambia and Victor Leal from Guatemala; in 2005, our winners were from Egypt, Jordan and Latvia;  in 2007 our winners were from Mozambique and India; in 2009 our winners were from Malaysia and Thailand; in 2011 our winners were Christina Baumgarten from Brazil, Giorgi Dartsimelia from Georgia, Patricia Oviedo Vela from Perú and Gennadiy Chudnovets from the Ukraine; in 2013 our winners were Nadia Sabina Mele from Argentina and Sangay Phurba from Bhutan; in 2015 our winners were Mxaine Blake (Bahamas), Joan Leacock (Barbados), David J. Apigo (Philippines), Tatyana Bukharina (Ukraine) and Tamara Levinson (Uruguay); in 2017 the scholarship was not applied; in 2019 our winners were Herbert Byaruhanga (Uganda) – who was unable to attend due to visa issues – and Levin Vadim (Uzbekistan). 

Once again thank you to the Androus Foundation for their continued support. The WFTGA is appreciative of all contributions received.
We look forward to a great response!